UPDATE: Several incumbents in local races to face challengers

Testingfg of Ads

The qualifying period the May 22, 2018 elections ended on Friday, March 9, at noon. Here is a look at candidates certified for key local races:

 DeKalb County Board of Commissioners

District 2

Jeff Rader, Democrat, Incumbent


District 3

Felton Wright, Democrat, Retired

Larry Johnson, Incumbent


District 7

Gregory Adams, Democrat, Incumbent

John E. Tolbert, Jr., Democrat, Regional Manager General Motors

Lorraine Cochran-Johnson, Associate Publisher/CEO

Ed Williams, Democrat, University Professor


Board of Education, District 2 (Non-partisan race)

Candice D. McKinley, Attorney

Marshall Orson, Incumbent, Consultant/Attorney


Board of Education, District 4

Allyson Gevertz, Non-Partisan, Former School Psychologist


Board of Education, District 6

Dijon “Twin” Dacosta,Teacher, DeKalb Kids Project

Lance Lawyer Hammonds, Chemical Sales


Soil & Water Commission

Carol Hayes


State Court Judge (To Succeed Johnny Panos)

Johnny Panos, Incumbent


State Court Judge (To Succeed Alvin T. Wong)

Alvin T. Wong, Incumbent


Judge of Superior Court (To Succeed Asha Jackson)

Asha F. Jackson, Incumbent


Judge of Superior Court (To Succeed retiring Daniel Coursey)

Gina Bernard, Felony Trial Attorney

Kirby Clements, Jr., Attorney

Latisha Dear-Jackson, Attorney

Nicholas Smith, Attorney

Roderick Bridges, Attorney

Tunde Akinyele, Attorney


Judge of Superior Court (To Succeed Courtney Johnson)

Courtney Johnson, Incumbent

Genet Hopewell, Attorney


Rockdale Board of Commissioners, Post 2

Doreen Williams, Democrat, Incumbent, Retired Teacher

Jeremy Boutelle, Democrat, Insurance Broker

Nick Suma, Democrat, Retired

Larry V. Cox, Republican, VP Construction Company

Yul D. Anderson, Republican, Real Estate Agent


Rockdale Board of Education, Post 1 (Non-partisan race)

Anika Inman, Consultant

Ben Sosby, Cashier

Mary Cebulski Greco, Retired

Sandra Jackson, RN/Event Planner


Rockdale Board of Education, Post 2 (Non-partisan race)

Katrina McCollum Young, Incumbent


Rockdale Judge of Superior Court

David B. Irwin, Incumbent



U.S. Congress, District 4

Hank Johnson, Democrat, Incumbent, Congressman

Joe Profit, Republican, Businessman/NFL Alumni Minister


DeKalb and Rockdale State Legislature


Senator, District 10

Emmanuel Jones, Democrat, Incumbent, Automotive Dealer


State Senator, District 43

Joel Thibodeaux, Democrat, Internal Auditor

Tonya P. Anderson, Democrat, Incumbent, Certified Life Coach/Pastor


State Senator, District 55

Gloria Butler, Democrat, Incumbent

Annette Davis Jackson, Republican, Businesswoman


State Senator, District 41

Sabrina McKenzie, Democrat, Advocate

Steve Henson, Democrat, Incumbent, Administrator


State Representative, District 80

Meagan Hanson, Republican, Incumbent

Matthew Wilson, Democrat, Attorney


State Representative 82

Mary Margaret Oliver, Democrat, Incumbent, Attorney


State Representative, District 83

Becky Evans, Democrat, Community Volunteer

Howard Mosby, Democrat, Incumbent, Health Care Administrator


State Representative, District 84

Renitta Shannon, Democrat, Incumbent, Consultant


State Representative, District 86

Joscelyn C. Oneil, Democrat, Retired

Michele Henson, Democrat, Incumbent, Businesswoman


State Representative, District 87

Earnest “Coach” Williams, Democrat, Incumbent, Retired Teacher

Viola Davis, Democrat, RN-BSN,Community Missionary


State Representative, District 88

Billy Mitchell, Democrat, Incumbent, Businessman


State Representative, District 90

Gregory Shealey, Democrat, Builder

Pam Stephenson, Democrat, Incumbent Attorney

Takosha Swan, Republican, Business Owner


State Representative, District 91

Vernon Jones, Democrat, Incumbent, Consultant


State Representative, District 92

Doreen Carter, Democrat, Incumbent, Accountant


State Representative, District 93

Darshun Kendrick, Democrat, Incumbent, Securities Attorney


State Representative, District 94

Karen Bennett, Democrat, Incumbent, Business Owner

L. Dean Heard, Democrat, Healthcare Consultant

State Representative, District 113

Pam Dickerson, Democrat, Incumbent

Sharon Henderson, Democrat, Pastor




On Common Ground News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testingfg of Ads

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607


Latest News

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, http://www.ocgnews.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact