Rockdale salutes RYL 2019 class members

RYL grads
Testingfg of Ads

Rockdale Youth Leadership (RYL) celebrated the development of another cohort of young leaders with a graduation ceremony on April 29 at Rockdale Career Academy.

The eight-month program, modeled after the Leadership Rockdale program by the Conyers-Rockdale Chamber of Commerce, is conducted by Rockdale County Public Schools (RCPS) and the Chamber.

High school sophomores who participate in the program learn about the industries, institutions, government agencies, and community in Conyers-Rockdale and Georgia. Participants hone leadership skills, receive networking opportunities, and often go on to become student leaders during their junior and senior years at RCPS. Graduates also will be able to wear a special cord at their high school graduation signifying they are a Rockdale Youth Leadership graduate.

The RYL 2019 graduates are pictured with Conyers-Rockdale Chamber of Commerce Education Committee Chair Leigh Gant of Georgia United Credit Union; RCPS Chief Officer for Safe Schools and Student Affairs, Dr. Garrett Brundage; and RYL advisors DJ Youngblood, Deborah Neason, and Susan Paul Smith. The graduates of the program are:

Ava Bailey (Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology)

Niya Baskett (RMSST)

Athena Beharry (Rockdale County High School)

Kyla Belfon (Salem High School)

Terissa Black (SHS)

Devin Brookins (Heritage High School)

Trinity Butler (RCHS)

Taylor Curtis (RMSST)

Layla Dent (RCHS)

Shanice Edwards (RCHS)

Malea Gant (RCHS)

Nicole Gore (RCHS)

Dymone Kelly (SHS)

Mackenzie Kennelly (RMSST)

Madison Lee (RMSST)

Madeline Lombard (RMSST)

Emma MacDonald (RMSST)

Charles Malone (HHS)

Lauren Mapp (HHS)

Jordynn Middlebrooks (HHS)

Azia Mitchell (RMSST)

Elesia Murphy (SHS)

Marisa Murray (HHS)

Danielle Nguyen (RMSST)

Sydney Palmer (RMSST)

Joshua Peacock (HHS)

Grant Preiss (HHS)

Chassidy Raines (HHS)

Ryan Richardson (HHS)

Jada Robinson (HHS)

Marsha Russell (RMSST)

Joy-Marie Salmon (RCHS)

Josephine Slotnik (RMSST)

Arielle Thomas (RCHS)

Olivia Tonpea (RMSST)

Kynnedy Turner (RMSST)

Kyrsten Turner (RMSST)

Joseph  Williams, Jr. (HHS)

Gabrielle Wood (RMSST)

For more information about RYL or how to apply for the 2019-2020 program, contact or visit

On Common Ground News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testingfg of Ads

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607

Latest News

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact