RCPS announces 2016 Teachers of the Year

Testingfg of Ads

Rockdale County Public Schools (RCPS) announced its 22 school-level Teachers of the Year who will compete for the title of Rockdale County Teacher of the Year. One teacher at each school was selected by their peers for the honor of being named his/her school’s Teacher of the Year. All 22 Teachers of the Year are educators to whom others look for inspiration and direction.

Competition for the Rockdale County Teacher of the Year begins with the school-level candidates completing a comprehensive application addressing their teaching philosophy and their reasons for deciding to serve the community as educators. The applications will be reviewed and scored by a panel of three judges. After totaling the scores, three finalists will be named. The judges will then personally interview each finalist and observe them teaching students in his/her classroom.

“It is my privilege each year to recognize our 22 Teachers of the Year,” says Superintendent Richard Autry. “These educators are exemplars in our organization. They are passionate about teaching and helping children create their own future. It speaks volumes that they were nominated by their own peers for this honor. I truly believe it is the people who make an organization great and I am proud to recognize this group of teachers for their outstanding work in our schools. The entire Rockdale community is indebted to their service to young people and commitment to excellence.”

All 22 school-level Teachers of the Year will be honored at the 2016 Teacher of the Year celebration on Sept. 26, 6 p.m., at Rockdale Career Academy, 1064 Culpepper Road, Conyers. The district-level winner who will represent RCPS at the state competition will be announced at end of the evening.



This year’s Teachers of the Year are:

Barksdale Elementary – Shauna Roddenberry

C.J. Hicks Elementary – Applemania Bradford

Flat Shoals Elementary – Demetrise Brown

Hightower Trail Elementary – Daniel Meador

Honey Creek Elementary – Shaun Evans

J.H. House Elementary – Kristi Roop

Lorraine Elementary – Allison Dunlop

Peek’s Chapel Elementary – Kniyonka Turner

Pine Street Elementary – Beth Duren

Shoal Creek Elementary – Yolanda Thomas

Sims Elementary – Haydee Daniel – Knight

Conyers Middle – Jean O’Kelley

Davis Middle – Kim Sanderson

Edwards Middle – David Yancey

Memorial Middle – Dameka Whitehead

Heritage High – Katie Cobb

Rockdale High – Kevin McKinney

Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology – Tiffany Jones

Salem High – Tapetress Ford

Alpha Academy – Samantha Hodge

Open Campus – Sabrina Smith

Rockdale Career Academy – Tom White

On Common Ground News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testingfg of Ads

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607


Latest News

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, http://www.ocgnews.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact