Rockdale runoffs to feature four races: BOC Chair

May 28, 20163min3630
Testingfg of Ads



Candidates in four Rockdale County races are headed for run-offs on July 26. Voters will be going back to the polls to cast ballots for Board of Commissioners Chair; Commissioner, Post, 1; Probate Judge; and Board of Education, Post 4. The runoffs are being held because none of the candidates in those races received over 50 percent of the vote.

In the most hotly-contested race, BOC Chairman Richard Oden and Commissioner Oz Nesbitt will face one another for the county’s top position.

The Chairman’s race was a nail biter with three Democratic candidates running neck and neck. Oden, however, managed a slight edge, receiving 2,661 votes (36 percent), while Nesbitt received 2,616 votes (35 percent). RJ Hadley, who gave up his position as Tax Commissioner to run for the seat, came in third with 2,182 votes (29 percent).

Oden has served two, four-year terms as Chairman. Nesbitt was elected to his second, four-year term on the BOC 2012.

Sheriff Eric Levett was the biggest winner of the May 24 Rockdale elections. Levett received 6,575 votes (87 percent) in defeating his only opponent, Donald Ferguson, who received 979 votes for 13 percent. Levett’s victory means that he has snagged a second, four-year term.

Rockdale Clerk of Courts Ruth Wilson was re-elected to her position, with the second-biggest win on election night. Wilson received 4,730 votes (65 percent) to give her a third, four-year term. Janice Morris, who had never run for office, received 2,514 votes (35 percent) in the two-way race.

Probate Court Judge Charles Mays will face Attorney Clarence Cuthpert, Jr. in the July 26 runoff. Mays received 2,992 votes (42 percent), while Cuthpert received 2,283 (32 percent). Mays is going for a second, four-year term.

Commissioner, Post 1 seat: Attorney Sherri Washington, who received 2,305 votes (32 percent), will be in a runoff with Phyllis Hatcher, who received 1,386 votes (19 percent). Thua Barlay came in third with 1,340 votes (19 percent).

Washington and Hatcher were the top vote getters in the crowded seven-way race.

Board of Education, Post 2: Pam Brown was elected to the seat. She received 5,446 votes (57 percent), defeating Larry V. Cox who received 2,519 votes (26 % ).

Board of Education, Post 4:  Heather Duncan will face Cassandra Barker-Carr in the July runoff. Duncan received 4,432 votes (48 percent) while Barker-Carr received 3,100 votes (34 percent).

Board of Education, Post 5: Incumbent Tony Dowdy was re-elected with 6,090 votes  (63 percent). Dowdy defeated Y.C. Douglas, who received  2,420 votes (25 percent).

Maintaining their seats were: Supreme Justice David Nahmias, Court of Appeals Judge Anne E. Barnes; Court of Appeals Judge Chris McFadden; Superior Court Judge Robert F. Mumford; State Court Judge Nancy Bills;  and Magistrate Judge Phinia Aten.

Other incumbents who were unopposed: Coroner George W. Levett, Jr.; BOE, Post 1 Mandy M. North; BOE and Post 3 Wales F. Barksdale.

On Common Ground News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testingfg of Ads

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607

Latest News

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact