Rockdale’s Katrina Young elected GSBA President

Testingfg of Ads

CONYERS–Katrina McCollum Young, a member of the Rockdale County Board of Education, was recently elected as President of the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) for the 2018-2019 term. During the upcoming year, she will serve as President-Elect. Representatives from 133 school boards in Georgia met June 9-10 in Savannah to approve the legislative positions of the association and to elect GSBA’s officers.


“We congratulate Katrina Young on her selection as upcoming President of the Georgia School Boards Association,” said Jim McBrayer, Chairman of the Rockdale County Board of Education. “Mrs. Young has served on the Rockdale County Board of Education for many years and has expanded her role in advocating for public education through various positions with the Georgia School Boards Association. Her selection as GSBA President is a testament to her commitment to providing quality education to all children in Georgia. We are proud to have one of our own serve as a leading voice for public education in the state and beyond.”


“I’m extremely excited and very grateful for the opportunity to serve as GSBA President,” said Young. “I believe our future depends on the quality of education our children receive. My goal is to continue to be a fierce advocate for children by championing a public education system that meets the needs of Georgia students and by building trust and support for public education. I’m passionate about school improvement and academic achievement because our children deserve an educational environment that prepares them for life, career, military or college.”


Young continued, “It has been a very rewarding experience to be part of a dynamic and professional organization. Our GSBA Executive Director is highly respected among her peers. The GSBA staff is outstanding and are experienced professionals and skilled leaders in the educational arena. I look forward to continuing a strong, collaborative working relationship with the GSBA team.”


Young, who was first elected to the Rockdale County school board in 2006, is GSBA Vice President for the 2016-2017 term and served as GSBA District 4 Director for two previous terms, representing Rockdale, Newton, DeKalb and Decatur City school systems. She serves on various committees at GSBA including the Executive Committee, Strategic Planning Committee, Georgia Vision Project Steering Committee, Governmental Operations Committee, Recognition Committee, as a Risk Management Fund Trustee, and as a National School Boards Association delegate.


For the upcoming year, Tom Odom, Chair of the Oconee County school board, was installed as President. Katrina Young was installed as President-Elect. Frank Griffin, chair of the Lee County school board was installed as Vice President. Ron Hopkins, Chair of the Jefferson City school board, begins a three-year term as Treasurer.


Prior to the conference, hundreds of school board members convened in Savannah to fulfill their annual training requirements as outlined in Georgia law. GSBA offered four workshops to allow board members to receive training: New Board Member Orientation, Equity, Policy and a Data Workshop

On Common Ground News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testingfg of Ads

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607

Latest News

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact