Judges Nancy Bills, Ronald Ramsey elected to Council of State Court Judges  

Testingfg of Ads

Rockdale County State Court Judge Nancy Bills was elected to serve as president and DeKalb County State Court Judge Ronald Ramsey was elected to serve on the Executive Committee of the Council of State Court Judges at its annual meeting.  

As president, Judge Bills is also a member of the Judicial Council, which is the governing body of the state-wide Judicial Branch of Georgia.

“When 129 of your peers ask you to serve, it’s an honor.  I deeply appreciate it and accept this honor on behalf of the people of Rockdale County. Without their faith and support, I wouldn’t have the opportunity to serve,” said Judge Bills.  “I will continue to be an ambassador for my home county, and to represent all State Courts to the best of my ability.”

Ramsey will represent District 7 on the Executive Committee. 

State Courts have county-wide jurisdiction in 71 counties in Georgia. In the past three years, there were more than 1.9 million cases filed in all 71 State Courts, making them the busiest courts of record in Georgia.  State Courts have jurisdiction over misdemeanor criminal cases, including traffic cases and all civil cases, except domestic relations and equity cases.

The Council of State Court Judges of Georgia is comprised of more than 147 State Court judges and senior judges throughout the state.  As President, Judge Bills will lead the Council in finding ways to fulfill its mission to further the improvement of the State Court and the quality and expertise of its judges; to maintain the impartiality of the judiciary; ensure the fair, efficient and uniform administration of justice; and enhance public confidence in the judicial system. 

The other newly elected officers of the Executive Committee are:

President Nancy Bills (Rockdale)

President Elect Joseph C. Iannazzone (Gwinnett)

Secretary: T. Russell McClelland (Forsyth)

Treasurer: Wes Tailor (Fulton)

Past President: H. Gregory Fowler (Chatham)

District 1: Gregory V. Sapp (Chatham)

District 2: R. Violet Bennett (Wayne)

District 3: John K. Edwards, Jr. (Lowndes)

District 4: Jeff Hanson (Bibb/Macon)  

District 5: Alan W. Thrower (Baldwin)

District 6: John G. Breakfield (Hall)

District 7: Ron Ramsey (DeKalb)

District 8: Allen Dee Morris Cherokee)

On Common Ground News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testingfg of Ads

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607


Latest News

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, http://www.ocgnews.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact