63 apply to serve on DeKalb County’s new Ethics Board

DeKalb logo 11
Testingfg of Ads

The DeKalb Delegation announced on Thursday (Dec. 3) that 63 applications from residents across DeKalb County were received for consideration for the newly reconstituted Ethics Board. The board will be comprised of seven members and two alternates who will serve in the event that two members are absent. The new board will begin serving on Jan. 1, 2021.

“The Appointing Committee is honored and humbled by the incredible response from our fellow DeKalb citizens and thanks each one of them for applying,” the news release stated.

The list of 63 will be narrowed down to a list of finalists, which also will be made public, the Delegation said.  The House and Senate will each appoint three members; DeKalb’s Tax Commissioner will appoint one person and the DeKalb Clerk of Court will appoint two alternatives to serve on the board.

DeKalb County voters approved HB1243 in a Nov. 3 referendum, paving the say for a newly reconstituted Ethics Board.

Meanwhile, Attorney Dwight Thomas, who represented former DeKalb County Commissioner Sharon Barnes Sutton in her successful challenge against the Ethics Board, has filed a motion objecting to the Dec. 2 Board of Ethics meeting.

Thomas stated in the motion filed on Nov. 30 that Ethics Officer Stacey Kalberman and members of the Board of Ethics held the December meeting in violation of the court’s Aug. 27, 2018 orders. The Georgia Supreme Court, Thomas said, held that four of the board’s seven members appointed by private organizations were “unconstitutional.” He said the three members who were left do not constitute a legal board.

Thomas said: “Further, the legislature does not have the power to override the Georgia Supreme Court by ignoring a ruling of the Georgia Supreme Court on a constitutional issue. Any action taken by an illegal and unconstitutional Board of Ethics is contemptuous and subject to other legal challenges.”

Following is the list of 63 applicants the DeKalb Delegation said has expressed an interest in serving on the new Ethics Board:

Patricia Ann Rosenthal Tucker, GA 30084
Dr. Natasha L. Ball Dunson  Decatur, GA 30035
John James Milner  Avondale Estates, 30002
Robert Peter Marcovitch Atlanta, GA 30306
Robert Lenoris Brown Lithonia, DeKalb, 30038
Vickie Elaine Collins  Chamblee (Dekalb) GA 30341
Robert L Wittenstein Dunwoody, GA, 30338
Harold Eric Hilton , Atlanta, DeKalb County, 30317
Thomas Samuel Clark  Decatur, GA 30030
Sheri Tomblin Lake Tucker, Georgia 30084
Cathea Simelton-Treminio Brookhaven, GA 30341
Lawrence Thomas Clements  Atlanta GA 30306
Margaret L. Walker Decatur, DeKalb 30033
Mrs. Ella Davis  Decatur, DeKalb 30034
Ms. De’Etra Judd-Moore  Decatur, 30034
Eric Peter Maurer Atlanta, GA 30307
Stephen Morgan Binney  Clarkston, Dekalb, 30021
Pamela Denise Williams Decatur, GA 30034
Alexandra Morgan Joseph Atlanta, GA 30317
Daniel Steven Morgan  Atlanta, GA 30345
Sanford Stuart Hartman Atlanta, Georgia, 30329
Renee Burwell-Billie  Stone Mountain, GA 30088
Jon Grant Keen Decatur, DeKalb, 30033
Velda Goldberg Decatur, 30030
Candace Nicole Walker  Stone Mountain, GA 30087
Jonathan Kadane Crane  Decatur, GA 30030
Mr. William T. Clark  Atlanta, GA 30307
Dr. Elizabeth “Beth” Lauren Thompson Stone Mountain, GA 30083
Mr. Ryan Brucks Brown Stone Mountain, GA 30083
Robert (“Bob”) Franklin Dallas  Dunwoody, DeKalb County, GA 30338
Daniel Andrew Browning Decatur, 30033
Rosa Darden Waymon  Stone Mountain, GA 30083
Veronica Nicole Kulon  Decatur GA 30035
Dr S Bola Tilghman Stone Mountain, DeKalb 30088
Ms. Madeline E. McNeeley Brookhaven, DeKalb County, GA 30319
Shayna M. Steinfeld Atlanta, 30345
The Rev. Dr. James L. Brewer-Calvert Atlanta GA 30340
Deborah Ann Jackson Lithonia, 30058
Adriana de la Torriente Atlanta, GA 30345
James Francis Grubiak Atlanta, GA 30306
James Tafford Langford  Dunwoody, GA 30360
Clara Black DeLay Lithonia, GA 30038
Jason J. Adams, Sr. DeKalb, 30032
Mr. Leslie Peter Klemperer Atlanta, DeKalb County 30307
Shan Ali Momin Dunwoody, DeKalb County, 30360
Stacey Allynn Chavis Atlanta, GA 30319
Angela Dixon  Clarkston, GA 30021
Karen Wheel Carter  Atlanta, GA 30345
Justin Archibald Critz Atlanta, DeKalb, 30306
Ms. Ann-MIchelle Long Spears  Brookhaven, GA 30319
Ms. Nadine Sabir Ali  Decatur, GA 30032
Renee Cail  Stonecrest, GA 30038
Ambreen Delawalla Decatur, 30030
Laura Ann Gordy Decatur GA 3030
Robert Walker Lithonia, 30058
Karen Wheel Carter Atlanta, GA 30345
Dr. Diane Daniels Adoma Stonecrest, GA 30038
Collin Matthew Smith  Tucker, Georgia 30084
Olivia Dayoga Burrell-Jackson Lithonia, GA 30058
David Howard Moskowitz  Dunwoody, GA 30338
Marvis McDaniel-Ivey Stone Mountain, Georgia 30083
Wendy Elizabeth Heaps Atlanta, 30307

On Common Ground News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testingfg of Ads

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607


Latest News

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, http://www.ocgnews.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact