119 RCPS students named AP Scholars, two named National AP Scholars

Rockdale-County-Shools-LOGO RCPS
Testingfg of Ads

Rockdale County Public Schools (RCPS) honors 119 students recently named 2017 Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars, including two National AP Scholars, for their outstanding performance on the 2017 exams.

Each year, thousands of high school students across the world take AP exams. The College Board recognizes the hard work of top students through the awarding of several distinctions: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction, and National AP Scholar.

Two RCPS students received the prestigious honor of being named National AP Scholars – Andrew Bonar and Dahlia Walters. These two students, both recent graduates from the Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology, scored 4 or higher on eight or more of their AP exams and had an average score of at least a 4 on all AP exams.

Twenty-three RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars with Distinction, which is awarded to those students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams and score 3 or higher on five or more AP exams.

Twenty-four RCPS students were recognized as AP Scholars with Honor, which is awarded to students who receive an average score of 3.25 on all AP exams taken and score a 3 or higher on four or more of those exams.

Seventy-two RCPS high school students were recognized as AP Scholars. This distinction is given to students who receive a score of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.

All of these students are to be commended for their hard work and dedication to their education. Being recognized as an AP Scholar is an honor, and RCPS congratulates the following students:



National AP Scholar


Andrew Bonar

Dahlia Walters



AP Scholar with Distinction


Lillian Jackson

Alejandro Rodriguez

Tony Wilson, Jr. 

Mykela Bolar

Madeline Burkey

Gwendolyn Cothran

Jordan Holmes

Laurel Holmes

Brandon Hong

Najifa Hossain

Chyna Mays

Asiah McWhorter

Martin Murphy

Michelle Nguyen

Toni Norton

Miranda Rice

Nkima Stephenson

Zarek Syed

Joshua Whittington

Erin Wilson

Matthew York



AP Scholar with Honor


Ronan Fitzgerald

Emily Howe 

Mary Kathryn Hutcheson

Zoe Newton

Adaugo Achionye

Ashley Appolon   

John Bare

Cameron Bennett

Faith Buchanan

Mary Jasheil Chupuico

Rodina Cummings

Sierra Driver

Zora Duncan

Kendal Hill 

Colin Kennelly 

Felix Luu

Jose Macias

Paul McKinney

Cody Myers 

Caroline Norwood

Brianna Pinckney 

Adrian Robbins 

Claire Smith

Sarah Taphom



AP Scholar


Chaz Barefield 

Alexander Barrus


Caroline Dipzinski 

McKaila Faison 

Gabriela  Garcia 

Lindsey Hardwick

Kenneth Jones

Jeremy McGrath

Justine McPherson

Daniel Newberry 

Luis Pimentel

Monique Queen

Tyrell Snagg

Arianna Spencer

David Tuck

Elina Babkina 

Audrey Banks

Sarah Beharry

Khaylie Boothe 

Rebekah Bowers

Stephanie Bryan Popo

Elisei Cheban

Jaxon Cowles

Noah Crafts

Julaam Diop

Ralph Dizon

Christian Downer

Sydney Driver  

Jack Dugan

David Duncan 

Jenna Farmer

Isabella Gaona 

Galilea Garcia

Daniel Garner

Cionne Gates

Abigail Gayden

Aaron Geanas

Austin Goodloe

Christina Griffin

Jada Guilford

Charles Hardnett

Erin Hardnett

Kenton Hayes

Candace Hill

Huong Ho

Ugonna Ibezim

Mayesha Jefferson

Jada Johnson

Toure Jones

Jestini Jordan

Dominic Lal-Smith

Irene Laws

Jacqueline Le

Emmeline Lombard

Lauryn McCray

Enya McDaniels

Jade McPike

Jahnae Morgan

Miranda Murphy

Carissa Myers

Shamar Palmer

Vraj Patel

Laine Pritchett

Aspen Sparrow

Janiece Stewart

Johanna Stokes

Olivia Tomlinson

Allison Vandevander

Aja Weary

Ryan Whitlock

Zorey Wickham 

On Common Ground News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testingfg of Ads

About us

On Common Ground News is published daily by On Common Ground, Inc (OCGNEWS.COM). The newspaper serves DeKalb, Gwinnett, Rockdale and Metro Atlanta.

The opinions expressed by writers and contributors are not necessarily those of the publisher or the newspaper’s advertisers.

No portion of this newspaper may be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher.

We reserve the right to reject material and advertisements we deem inappropriate.

On Common Ground News
P.O. Box 904
Lithonia, GA 30058

(770) 679-5607


Latest News

Select list(s) to subscribe to

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: On Common Ground News, 1240 Sigman Road, Conyers, GA, 30012, http://www.ocgnews.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact